I’m Not a Villainess!! Just Because I Can Control Darkness Doesn’t Mean I’m a Bad Person! – Chapter 5

Both of Their Royal Highnesses ,who were watching over the course of the events, smiled and took advantage of the opportunity.

“That’s nice. Then would you also not mind if I called you Claudia too?”
“Me too.”

My brain couldn’t keep up with the sudden development.

“I don’t mind.”

As I consented for now because I didn’t have any reasons to refuse, His Highness Levy proposed something outrageous.

“Please address us casually too, Claudia.”
“Such a thing! I cannot do it.”

There’s no way I could talk to the Princes casually.

“Oh, how disappointing.”

Despite saying so, His Highness Levy didn’t look particularly disappointed and easily backed down. He must’ve said it while knowing that I would refuse.
My brother, who was listening to our exchange, sullenly opened his mouth.

“Levy, can you not make passes at my younger sister?”
“Why? I feel like I would become good friends with her.”

His Highness Levy flashed a radiant smile.
Did he want to tease my brother or did he want to tease me….this person is still a mystery to me.
While I was thinking so, His Highness Edgar whispered to me.

“Looks like Elder brother has taken fancy to you. You have my condolences. Elder Brother always pesters those he fancies endlessly!”

What does he mean by pester? I wonder what’s going to happen to me?
If you sympathize with me then I’d rather you help me out as his younger brother!
As if reading my heart, His Highness opened his mouth.

“I’ll warn you in advance that I can’t beat Elder Brother so I cannot help you.”

In other words, I should just resign?
At any rate, my goal of creating a friendly relationship with Their Royal Highnesses has been achieved.
In the novel, Claudia and Emily, who is heroine’s best friend, have never been on good terms. Obviously, His Highness Levy too, who held affection towards the heroine, was in a hostile relationship with Claudia.
Regardless, the tea party ended as a great success.
Will the future change if I act differently from the Claudia of the novel? If it’s true, avoiding BAD END might not be a fantasy either.
And I, more than avoiding the BAD END, was hoping to maintain a friendly relationship with them.

A month passed after the tea party with Emily and the others.
Jordan told me that apparently soon I would have a little brother or a sister.
According to the doctor, the child in my mother’s stomach is developing steadily.
It would be bad if something affected her body, so I haven’t gone to see her.  Since her condition has gotten good enough to bear a child, I want both her and the baby to reach the childbirth day in a healthy state.
One day, His Highness Levy visited my room.
Ever since that tea party, Emily and Their Royal Highnesses often come over to play. Especially His Highness Levy comes over anytime he has free time so I’ve already warmed up to him quite a bit.
His Highness is busy with school and public work, so I think that at least on his day offs he should leisurely rest in the royal palace. But for some reason relaxing at my house has been becoming a routine for him.
I told him that I would be gaining a new family member.

“Why are you not going to see her?”

His Highness asked with a wondering expression.

“See who?”
“Duchess Letsya, of course.”

What is this person saying? If I do that, I might give unnecessary stress to my mother and the baby might not be born safely.

“How about you going to see her instead? I am sure she would be delighted.”
“Gimme a break, I’ll be scolded by the Duke.”

Since my father is doting on my mother, he seems to be declining visits from everybody other than the family members, saying that it would put burden on her body. That being said, I doubt he would get angry at His Highness who’s a royalty.
By the way, His Highness Levi refers to himself in『casual』manner when talking to people he is close with.
I have also let my guard towards him to the point that I had become able to crack jokes with him. 

“If that happens, I will laugh it off.”
“At such times I’d rather you gently comfort me though.”

While we were having such conversation, my brother, Liam, had entered my room before I noticed it. He was looking at us with the corner of his mouth twitching.
Making an unpleasant face, His Highness Levy talked to to my brother.

“What did you come here for, Liam? Just when we were happily spending time together.”
“You seem to be relaxing as if this is your own house, but this is Claudia’s room. There is no problem with me, the older brother, coming to my younger sister’s room.”
“There is a big problem! Getting in the way of somebody’s tryst, there should be a limit to being boorish.”

His Highness Levy purposely shrugged his shoulders and sighed.
He really loves to tease my brother.

“If you say that this is tryst, I also have the right to choose my partner, Your Highness Levy.”
“Wah! That was casually rude. Recently you’ve become merciless towards me, Claudia.”

Listening to our exchange, for some reason my brother laughed satisfyingly. Seeing this, His Highness Levy shrugged again.

Such days continued and the day of the childbirth came in a blink of an eye.
My mother, whose labor pains started at night, entered the room that was prepared for the childbirth, while my father and the brother were waiting for the birth of a new life in the room next to it. I was watching stars with Gerald on balcony of my room.
After a while, wind spirits nearby started to stir and eventually all at once headed towards a certain place.

“Looks like the baby was born.”

Unusually, Gerald talked to me without telepathy,

“Seems like so.”

People from the Letsya Ducal family are loved by the wind spirits. My father has the protection of the Wind Spirit King, so the ones who share his blood must be even more precious for the wind spirits.
That’s why, when a baby is born, lower spirits go to see them like this. I’ve heard that it was the same when my older brother was born too.
However, when I was born, they seemed to have scattered in all directions.
Because of his overly strong magic power, Dark Spirit King is feared from other spirits too.
The only ones who are able to easily approach him are only the spirit kings of other attributes. Nonetheless, Dark Spirit King’s magic powers are stronger than any other spirit king’s, so they’re also very wary of him.
I wonder if Gerald isn’t lonely?…
While I was lost in my thoughts, Jordan came to the balcony.

“Ojou-sama, it is your younger brother that was born. His name was decided as Sylphonse-sama.”
“Then his nickname must be Syl?”
“That would be right. How about going to visit him once too, ojou-sama?”

Jordan told me so, but there is no way I could go.

“Thank you but I would prefer to refrain.”
“However, ojou-sama….”
“Babies are very sensitive. If I get close, he will definitely start to cry.”
“Is that so….I understand.”

Jordan made a disappointed face and returned to the room. The feeling of guilt welled up inside of me, but this is something that can’t be helped.

“Aren’t babies just noisy and bawl loudly? There is no need to bother going to see him.”
“Oh my, do you hate babies, Gerald?”
“I’m just not interested.”

Gerald said sulkily. Babies are sensitive to the presences of the spirits. I bet until now babies only cried after seeing him.

“….Well, there is no way that I would go to see my younger brother on my own accord.”

Saying so, I looked towards the direction the wind spirits flew to.

Almost a year has passed since my younger brother was born.
I have been trying to keep away from him and possibly because of that, there haven’t been any problems till now.
Just like this, until my younger brother grows up, I’ll watch over him from the shadows.
One day as I was thinking so, an incident happened.
It was at the time when I had returned from my outing to the downtown. That day, since I was using a carriage, I entered the house through the front gates.
Beyond the entrance door, there is an atrium.
When I unintentionally looked up at the corridor on the second floor that was surrounding the hall, I saw Sylphonse peeping at the first floor.. When he noticed me, perhaps because he tried to come over to my side, he easily slipped through the gaps between the handrails.

“Watch out!”

Sylphonse’s hand cut through the sky and his body inclined forward. Strangely enough, I could see his movement in slow motion.
In order to catch my falling younger brother, I stretched out my arms and started running.
The spirits around him blew wind from below, so his falling speed slowed down and I was somehow able to catch him.
There was almost no impact when he fell into my arms either.
Even if I didn’t catch him, he would most likely still land safely.
Although he didn’t seem to have any injuries from what I checked, Sylphonse burst into tears with a loud voice enough to resound in the entrance hall.
The maid, who heard his crying, came running with a ghastly face.

“What are you doing?!”

The maid shrieked and snatched Sylphonse from me. It was a newly-hired exclusive maid for my younger brother.
She glared at me while soothing Sylphonse. Her eyes were clearly suspecting me.
Normally, I never interact with servants other than Jordan, so the maids are still evading me.
Following after the maid, my mother and the wet nurse came to the entrance.

“Sylphonse-sama! I’m glad….we have finally found you.”

The wet nurse said with a truly relieved voice.
Judging from her words, he most likely left the room the moment they took their eyes off him.
My mother saw me for a second but averted her eyes and called out to Sylphonse’s exclusive maid.

“What in the world happened?”
“Ojou-sama was trying to harm Sylphonse-sama….”

Sure enough, the maid started to treat me as a villainess.

“Wait, I haven’t done anything!”
“Then why was Sylphonse-sama crying in such a way?! By the time I arrived, he was crying inside ojou-sama’s arms. I can’t think of any reason other than you having done something.”

I cannot deal with being doubted just because of something like that anymore.

“Claudia, did you possibly try to….”

My mother’s face turned pale.

“Please wait, I….”

I unintentionally took a step forward. Looking at me, my mother hurriedly took Sylphonse from the maid. And then hugged him as if trying to protect him from me.

“Stop it. Don’t come near Syl.”

My mother, who until now would made her stiffen and fall sick after seeing me, sternly glared at me.
I’m being treated as a culprit even though I’m innocent and on top of that, there is nobody who would stand up for me.
Is this what they call being surrounded by enemies on all sides?, I thought as if it was somebody else’s problem.

“Do you truly think that I have done something to Sylphonse?”
“Yes. Because you find us hateful, right? for being unable to accept you. That’s why, as a retaliation you tried to…Syl…”
“Madam, what are you saying!”

Jordan came after hearing the uproar. He stood between me and my mother as if to shield me.
Looking at his figure, Sylphonse’s exclusive maid cried out.

“Why are you protecting her, Jordan-sama!”
“Shut your mouth! You seem to have made reckless remarks towards ojou-sama, haven’t you? Looking down upon the daughter of the family you serve is not something a servant should do. Gather your belongings immediately and leave this house.”
“How can that be!”

The maid’s sorrowful voice echoed.

“Duchess.”

Even when I called her, my mother didn’t try to meet me eyes. Regardless, I continued.

“Was what you said your true thoughts? Do you truly think that I hate you people and want to harm you?”
“I cannot think otherwise!”

My mother declared so, despite her face being pale.

“Madam! Ojou-sama would not do such a thing!”

Jordan was still trying to protect me. At that moment, familiar low voice resounded in the entrance hall.

“Foolish. Truly foolish. I’ve been staying quiet till now, but you people just keep yapping as you wish. Claudia hasn’t done anything to that brat.”

My mother and the maid screamed at the sudden appearance of Gerald. Sylphonse inside of my mother’s arms started crying with an especially loud voice.
Gerald knit his eyebrows together, as much as to say that he was displeased.

“Claudia only saved that brat when he fell from the second floor. Hey, woman over there, don’t accuse Claudia because of your stupid speculations.”
“Hieee.”

Hearing Gerald’s crawling low voice, Sylphonse’s exclusive maid gave out a short scream and fainted. The misunderstanding might have been solved because of Gerald.
But it was obvious for everybody that this incident resulted in a definitive crack between me and my mother.

After that, my father who received a report from Jordan, came to me as I had withdrawn to my room.
He told me that dismissed the maid who falsely accused me and then once again opened his mouth as if feeling remorseful.

“Claudia, about Isana…”
“What about the Duchess?”

My father showed a bewildered face to me, who was acting as if nothing had happened.

“….I’m sorry.”

He must have prepared various words, but he could only say this. I kept staring at him expressionlessly. 
My father also kept looking at me silently for a while, but after sighing, he deeply bowed his head.

“Also, about Syl…thank you.”
“It’s nothing, I only did a natural thing as a human.”

Sylphonse is still my younger brother, even if I’m not permitted to hold him in my arms.

“I see….”

Only saying this much, my father turned silent once again.

“Is there still anything else?”
“Y-yeah, um…are you okay?”
“What do you mean?”

I don’t understand what my father is concerned about. After all, I am okay. Even the possibility of something like this happening is something I would know if I thought for a little while.
Me being shunned is something that cannot be helped. That’s why, it doesn’t hurt. I’m not hurt.
Every time I told this to myself, I was able to endure the tears that were about to overflow.

“Oh, nothing, it’s all good then if you’re okay.”

My father left the room as if running away and once again I was alone.
I have a power to destroy the world. It’s natural for people to fear or hate me. Even the blood-related parents aren’t an exception.
I told myself again that it couldn’t be helped and swallowed back my tears alone in the room.

***
A year passed after that,
It’s the season when the spring flowers are in full bloom. The gentle sunlight wrapped up the surroundings.
However, the atmosphere between me and my family was unrelated to that warmth.
After that incident, I started to put more distance between me, my mother and my younger brother. I try to avoid coming across Sylphonse as much as possible and my mother and the maids are also careful to not let him approach me.
Sylphonse seems to have some interest in me, but it’s unclear whether or not he recognizes that I’m his older sister.
Ever since that time, I have also declined the invitations from Emily and Their Royal Highnesses and often spend time withdrawn in my room. Although, instead of seeing each other, we often exchange letters and tell each others news about our current affairs. I also often hear about His Highness Levy from my brother.
While I was living such days, I turned 12 before I realized it. And finally, the day I enrolled in the school came.
The school in this world has a 7-year system and the ones attending it are only the sons and the daughters of the nobles. There, while learning how to handle magic, they establish personal connections that would be helpful for the future or search for fiancés,
The school is at the outskirts of the royal capital and it takes about an hour by the carriage from the mansion. It’s a very quiet place that’s surrounded by the mountains.
I’m worried about whether I’ll be able to live in a group and cannot help feeling anxious.
But, in difference from Claudia of the novel, I’m not alone. There are my friends, Emily and His Highness Edgar in the same grade and I also have a friendly relationship with His Highness Levy and my brother who’ll become my upperclassmen. That’s why, if everything goes well, I might be able to even make new friends. I held such expectations too.
Nothing will come out of standing still. Telling myself that everything would be okay because I wasn’t alone, I decided to take a new step.

On the day of the entrance ceremony, I, His Highness and Emily entered the classroom together.
Right away, the students that have been happily chatting with each other  stopped and looked at us. Pretending that I didn’t care, I confidently headed towards my seat.
I wonder if I slightly seemed like a villainess?
My seat is the furthest at the back, Emily is in front of me and His Highness is beside Emily.
Although it’s a seating that has been predetermined since the beginning, I’m glad that those two are close to me.
The moment His Highness Edgar took his seat, he was called out to by the classmates of all genders.

“Nice to meet you, Your Highness.”

The one who talked to him before everybody else, was a blonde-haired boy with golden eyes and short stature. According to Emily, he’s the son of the Pope.
In the Kingdom of Leycia, state religion is the Mist faith. The top of the church is the Pope and his position is hereditary. Therefore, within the clergy, only the Pope is allowed to marry.
His rank is the second highest after the royalties, but since the Pope cannot intervene in the politics, substantially, Duke Letsya is the real 2nd rank. It’s because our family has had matrimonial alliance​s with the royal family several times in the past. However, since on surface the Pope’s status is higher than mine, I cannot ignore him.
I’ve heard that the current Pope has a very gentle personality and is a reliable person. He’s intimate with the citizens and even among the nobles, there are some who go to him for consultations.
However, apparently those traits don’t seem to have been inherited by his son. It’s obvious at a glance that he wants to win His Highness Edgar’s favor and since His Highness also understood this, he was ignoring him with a sullen face. Taking the opportunity that His Highness wasn’t talking, another male student cut in.

“It’s been a long time, Your Highness Edgar.”

As he approached with a radiant smile, His Highness Edgar’s face became even more sullen.

“I am honored to be able to study at the same schoolhouse as His Highness. My father would also like to send his best regards.”

This male student, who failed to notice His Highness’ bad mood, was the Prime Minister’s son, Grayson Alfar
If I remember right, in the novel he was the heroine’s counselor. He didn’t have core strength like Emily, but he should’ve also had the role of cheering up the heroine after she was bullied by Claudia.
Just as depicted in the novel,  he had a reddish brown hair with blue eyes and gave out an ordinary impression.
Right when he tried to talk to His Highness Edgar more, he was easily pushed away by the female students.

“Your Highness, please let us greet you too!”

The girls must be making efforts to somehow leave a favorable impression on His Highness. Each of them has a thick layer of makeup on. But, since it doesn’t suit their childlike faces, it looks extremely unnatural. They also seemed to be wearing an ample amount of perfume and with all the scents mixed together, it smelled disgusting. 
His Highness’ face distorted in disgust. But the noble ladies, who were desperate to butter him up, didn’t notice that their efforts were fruitless.
I and Emily were looking at him as if it was somebody else’s business.

“His Highness has it rough too.”

Emily murmured with sympathy.
I would love to help him out, but there is nothing we can do.
As soon as I gave up, a certain male student approached the female students that were surrounding His Highness.

“Ladies, how about leaving it at that and setting His Highness free?”

Both His Highness and the ladies looked towards the direction relaxed voice came from. There stood a quite handsome boy with blonde hair and blue eyes. Female students were instantly enchanted by his refreshing smile.

“The school life has only just started. Even if you rush and introduce yourself like that, His Highness won’t be able to remember all of you. Would it not be better if you came to know each other slowly and became good friends?”

With the handsome boy pointing it out, the female students surrounding His Highness seemed to have realized that the current situation wasn’t very favorable.

“Y-you are right.”
“My apologies, Your Highness.”

Unanimously​ apologizing, the girls hastily scattered away.
When the crowd disappeared, His Highness talked to the handsome boy.

“Who are you?”

Then, the handsome boy bowed to His Highness with refined movements.

“I am sorry for the late self-introduction. I am Ronald Windor.  Pleased to make your acquaintance.”
“Marquis Windor’s son, huh. You saved me there, Ronald. You have my gratitude.”
“No, I am honored if I was of use.”

Ronald only said those words and returned to his seat.
He was a male students that left a quite good impression, but my heart felt strangely unsettled. However, before I was able to determine the cause, the homeroom teacher entered the classroom and I had no other choice but to stop thinking about it.


Notes:
Interestingly enough, because alphapolis parses chapters is a weird way, chapters before the *** part in this chapter where all parts of the original first chapter and we’re only now getting into the second chapter. I’m not going to change the chapter titles at this point in time but I thought I’d share.

(I’m not 100% sure what the fuck 構い倒す is)
from what was explained to me, adding 倒す means that something is done to the point of being super annoying so in this sentence it would imply “paying attention to an annoying extent” thus pester (not exactly the best alternative but better than the original, right?). Thank you to everybody who tried to help out with this <333

the『casual』 Claudia is referring to is actually just Levy referring to himself with “ore” instead of “watashi” that he used with strangers or at official places
Younger brother’s name is シルフォンス
Raws described Gerald’s voice as 地を這うような
決定的な溝ができた the sentence about the crack
グレイソン・アルファー Grayson Alfar’s name
Claudia says 集団生活 as in communal life or group life so it might imply living in dorm?
Ronald’s full name is ロナルド・ウィンドー and his last name is basically Window but I’m sure you can guess why I’d change that

Fun fact: this whole novel costs under $5 usd 

Notify me about mistranslations, typos and awkward grammar so I could fix it afap

P.S there is no way those parents are getting a redemption, right? like, the moment author tries to make them any sympathetic towards the end I will try everything to transmigrate into this novel and punch both of them. Claudia deserved much better and I hope this school has a dorm system so she doesn’t have to stay in that goddamned house!

P.P.S I swear, I had to chant “babies don’t know better” when I was reading the Sylphonse part.

 Previous Chapter || Table of Contents || Next Chapter

72 thoughts on “I’m Not a Villainess!! Just Because I Can Control Darkness Doesn’t Mean I’m a Bad Person! – Chapter 5

      1. Her loss. She only has one daughter and she chose not to cherish such connection. She’ll never experience having to dress another female in her lifetime.

        Liked by 5 people

      2. @Space banana That dressing part sounded a bit funny. I believe she would compensate such deficit on Sylphonse.XD Still, her loss.

        Like

    1. One is battling his well honed soldier body the other is a straight up scared bitch. The father I can understand why he’s scared he’s two kinds warning him of danger the wind spirit and his well honed military senses.

      Like

  1. I don’t know if this is correct, I’m coming at this problem strictly from the English-speaking side.
    However, maybe “bully” would be a fitting translation. Like a little boy who pulls the hair of the girl he likes, he’s mean to the people he finds interesting.

    “Elder Brother always bullies the people he likes.”

    Liked by 5 people

    1. That’s a possibility. “Knock down” was just the most literal translation I could find.

      I’ll ask proper jp translators if bullying would be appropriate.

      Like

    1. Yeah, I think it’s like that too. Like, he’s too mean or teasing like he messes with Liam.
      I’ll ask proper jp tl about the actual translation and decide what to do with it after that.

      Like

      1. For 構い倒す, the best translation I can think of is “bug to death” or “annoy to death.” 構う is to pay attention to and 倒す is to push over. So basically, you pay so much attention to a person, they feel like they are being pushed over. So basically annoyed to death.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Really hope that she doesn’t reconcile with her family in the end,i prefer that she simply sever ties with them and go to make a life of her own,her mother looks to be a tipycal shallow and useless noblewoman

    Liked by 6 people

    1. No no we can’t sever family ties. But we could control how we react, and restrict our interaction. The parents are currently blinded and overwhelmed by fear.

      They’re probably what we’d call… toxic parents?

      Liked by 4 people

  3. While the mother seemed to be out of the line (come on, with MC status, it is better to just exile the MC for both party’s sake rather than keeping them together), The father seem to be helpless to do anything (pressure from his wife, from MC, from society, the queen herself, etc.; he also seemed to think he had tried all he can, not to mend relationship with MC, but to ease MC’s life).

    I’m interested on why you want to blame MC’s father. Anyway, I don’t understand MC’s thought (or so much things seemed to be put in the background here, idk). Why does she think she has better chance to escape the ruinous ending with making connection to the princes and emily. There seem to be little development between them, so it feels strange to me.

    Like

    1. She has already said that if she gets close to the Princes, they’ll speak up for her if the time comes for her to get married. Especially Levy already has a big influence both in public and within the nobles (and that influence will grow even more until the BAD END time comes) so his words will have more weight if he tries to make nobles rethink sending Claudia to the other kingdom. As for Edgar, in the novel he was Claudia’s fiance but had a bad relationship with her and instead loved the heroine which also contributed to her being sent away so Claudia wants to be friendly with him instead. What’s better than one prince protecting you? Two princes protecting you.
      Getting close to Emily is more of just Claudia wanting to have any proper friends. It’s not 100% connected to her avoiding her death.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Please be independent as soon as possible, Miss Claudia. Sometimes, parent-children relationship can be toxic, and this one fits the criterias.

    Funny how the royal family treasure her while her own family shun her.
    What a big talk for a ‘loyalty to royal family’…

    Liked by 7 people

  5. *My kokoro is broken* (ノД`)・゜・。

    Ugh when her bitch of a mother said that, my heart really started hurting 😭

    Thank you for translating *blows nose* 🤧

    Liked by 4 people

  6. Thanks for chapter.
    I hate Claudia mother very much. Even she have blessing of dark spirit king, she never done anything since born.
    Moreover they real mother and daughter, but hate Claudia since born. What baby can do when she doesn’t even have awareness(because her mother shouldn’t know Claudia is reincarnated person).
    And what with that maid, even she saw baby crying in Claudia arm, without any proof she accused her employee daughter even she is hated and feared.
    Glad she already fired.
    Hope Claudia will have good memories in school life because in house her family like a trash(except her older brother)

    Liked by 5 people

  7. This chapter really does make me sad as well. I feel like the whole family really does need to sit down and talk about their feelings. Its pretty obvious that Claudia loves them but is also painfully aware that her presence causes them great distress. Therefore she limits her interactions with them not out of feels of revulsion or anger but out of sympathy. Not knowing that however I can understand why her mom believes Claudia, who avoids her, would hate her because she realizes her own behavior is worthy of being hated. Father is also problematic in the fact that he does love his daughter but instinctual fear keeps kicking in and he can never really try to comfort her since he lives in constant fear of her.

    In this sort of situation it shouldn’t be the child who opens up first. Especially considering it is the adults who are avoiding and running from her making it all the harder for her to approach. I feel like if the parents understood the intentions behind her actions they might feel more at ease with her, but then again they would have to believe she really does love them. Part of the problem for them to believe that though is how painfully aware they are of how little they have done to deserve love from her.

    All in all I feel like too much burden is being placed onto Claudia herself. Especially with the latest incident and realizing her mother truly looks at her like a monster that would hurt her own brother. If she doesn’t get some kind of outlet to release some of the compiled stress I fear that something is going to finally make her snap just like what happened to the Hero in that fairy tale. Its just really sad that people don’t seem to understand or care about how their actions are trying to force Claudia into becoming the monster they assume she will become.

    Liked by 4 people

    1. Claudia is truely pitiful, it’s understandable though, in both of her lifes, she’s been shunned so it’s no surprise that she is as gloomy and as self aware as she is.

      Like

  8. Well, I won’t be nominating the father and mother for any parent awards any time soon. That being said, they acted according to my expectations so I wasn’t surprised. The father was spineless and the mother paranoid. You know your parents are worthless when you’re getting along better with another family (in this case, the royal family) than you are with them. Please sever ties with those losers soon, Claudia!

    Speaking of the royal family, I’m starting to warm up to Levy now. Before he seemed too much like the type that hides his true self behind a mask, but I feel like he’s acting more genuine now. I still ship Claudia with Edgar or Emily (yes, her, try to stop me!!) over him though. *waves flag*

    Liked by 2 people

  9. Let’s see here, we have an oblivious MC yet again, except this time it’s due to others being racist, we have an extremely anxious mother duchess, a wimpy father duke, an Onii-San named Gerald, a flirty prince named Edgur, etc, ect, anyways, please keep up the good work Cofeen, it’s awesome reading this stuff =)

    Liked by 1 person

  10. In the original game if they really considered Claudia as dangerous as a nuclear weapon, it makes even less sense, they sent her to another country with an arranged marriage, right? No wonder the other country decided to go to war with them after receiving a card with so much potential on a silver platter. They must have thought, that any country that ostracizes a contractor of a king of the spirits, up to that point and then the gift of so easily. Must be full of idiots from top to bottom, right?
    Thanks for the chapter

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well, back in chapter 1 the narration said that she was killed by the heroine shortly afterwards so, at least in the original game, the heroine must’ve been stronger than Claudia by such a degree that they didn’t care and just wanted to be rid of her.

      But yeah, kingdom is still full of idiots.

      Like

      1. But of course the original Claudia was weak after all she was so ostracized that they had not even been given a private tutor… and because they were so full of idiots, the neighboring country probably saw them as a facified target and tried to invade them.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Novel Claudia only had darkness powers and nothing else. Even though the current Claudia wasn’t exactly an adult when she reincarnated, she was still mature in a way and could make somehow logical decisions. She could rationalize the attitudes of other people. On the other habd, the novel Claudia was a normal child, raised neglected, hated by everybody. It’s no wonder that she’d feel rebellious and snap. And since heroine has the light spirit king’s protection (direct opposite of the dark spirit king) of course she’d lose.

        Liked by 1 person

  11. this chapter makes you want to flip a table( but I wont)
    I can not understand how the head of a household who normally deals with scheme-filled and evil nobles can be so spineless! How can this be! go and scold your damn wife you useless piece of ********* !
    The mother? can that woman be called one??? there are too many things to say about that **************!
    Claudia is so pitiful T-T its admirable she did not become twisted after experiencing such things…

    Liked by 2 people

  12. Okay, despite the risk of being hated I actually have to defend the parents here (a little). While they are bad parents, they appear to actually love Claudia (at least it looks like that to me). Her father may be spineless, but he does seem to feel bad about it (not that it helps Claudia). Her mother on the other hand probably actually thinks that Claudia hates her. After all Claudia always refused meeting her. We know that she does this to not harm her mother, but her mother doesn’t. Claudia only explained her reasoning regarding that once, to Jordan when Sylph was born. So whenever she wanted to see her daughter or someone else wanted to arrange a meeting, Claudia had refused to protect her. Because of that her mother came to the conclusion that she was hated and this lead to the happenings of this chapter. Overall I feel angry at the father and I kind of pity the mother, but I can’t really hate them. Still want to punch both of them though. Oh and I think Sylph is only scared of Gerald, not of Claudia.

    Like

    1. I do agree about the father but I don’t feel the same way about the mother. She’s explicitly shown many times that she is very afraid of Claudia no matter what she does, though in a way she does show some kind of insight regarding her treatment of Claudia. If she thinks that Claudia must hate her it means that she understands that she’s been treating her coldly and assumes that no normal child could have positive thoughts about the parents that act the way she and her husband do. But what baffles me is how she understands this much and still keeps acting the same way.

      Liked by 3 people

    2. i think syl might not even by scared of Gerald.
      if i remember correctly the only time he cried was right after he fell from the 2nd Floor.
      think about it: every child espacially that small would be scared after such a fall:
      and i agree with cofeen here: i think the mother is actually quite ridiculous.
      she realizes that she deserves to be hated by her own daughter but instead of changing her ways she only becomes worse -.-

      Like

      1. Yeah, that with sylph is probably true. And I am not saying that the mother is not in the wrong here but only that the reason she thinks Claudia hates her is a sound one (her reaction less so).

        Like

    3. You are wrong, her mother never invited or went to see Claudia. She tried her best to avoid her. She only seen her during breastfeeding and ignored her. She always averted her eyes and ignored her.

      Jordon. her big brother and the duke are the few people who asked Claudia to meet her mother, not the other way around. She never wanted to see Claudia. even the etiquette lesson is asked by Duke

      Liked by 1 person

  13. thanks for the chapter ^_^
    pretty fast you updated this time…
    at first i think that maid really brave, because she dare to blames like everything is Claudia fault, and i changed my thoughts after Gerald come out haha xD

    you said : Notify me about mistranslations, typos and awkward grammar so I could fix it (afap)
    mean “as fast as possible?”
    because (afap) i thought it’s different meaning. (>..<"

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My speed usually depends on my interest and the translation process itself so the smoother it goes, faster I finish chapters.

      It’s as fast as possible, yeah.

      Like

    2. WaduHek i type so many and when post just this come out?
      better change ASAP: as soon as possible

      Still not enough! i need more CLAUDIA DOSE ONEGAISHIMASU >.<"

      Like

    3. just joking boss!
      i really wanted said that..
      nice tsukomi xD
      just take your time no need to speed up because of me…
      wow you reply so fast bro! oh, btw where button reply in your second comments i can’t found its

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m reading another novel on wordpress so the notification pops up right away.
        The reply button is where it should be.

        Like

  14. Thanks for the chapter!!! I can’t believe that I didn’t notice the new chapters right away!!!! It seems like [Claudia Radar] really needs to be upgraded after all!!

    As for the contents recently read,I….I can only be left dumbstruck. I admit that I am surprised Prince Edgar was actually nicer than his original introduction, but he is still a spoiled brat for saying so many insults at Claudia simple due to him being in a bad mood. He should have obviously known how sensitive Claudia’s situation was, yet he did whatever he felt like anyway…….I would have liked him better if he were to get a few punches after/during the party.

    Well, he is not the only one that needs a good slap or punch either, since Duchess Isana was….infuriating. After all the efforts that everyone put in so that Claudia would finally come out of shell and bond with them, she actually dared to act as though she speaks for the entire family and declares how they will never truly accept Claudia. DId she ever truly asked her own eldest son and husband about their true feelings concerning Claudia or whether the eldest son ever spent time with her?

    Heck, she only spent a little bit of time with her own daughter and saw how composed and well-mannered Claudia was. I honestly thought she was slowly coming around and was realizing her past mistake. However, Isana apparently choose to become brave for the wrong reasons and then declared to her own child that she will never truly love her due to what blessing she received (and the color of her skin)………I hope she suffers from bewilderment on how Claudia finds friends who will love and protect her, and I hope she suffers regret in knowing how she forever scarred their relationship and past together.

    …….Of course, I can’t say that I like the Duke either, since he is so incompetent as a father that he has never once truly consoled or consulted with his extremely isolated daughter. Jordan is more of a father and parent than anyone else in Claudia’s life. Sigh, the siblings and butler might be the saving grace for the Letsya Dukedom…….. Syl seems like he will become adorable and a sis-con in the future.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. i actually cried when the mother said those horrible things……i really really sympathize with her and its making me cry remembering that she was holding back her tears………

    Like

  16. You know, it’s a f*cking wonder this girl hasn’t destroyed this racist to the core of a world yet, considering how much she had to endure with the attitude of her parents. Bless Gerald, Jordan, Liam, Levy, Edgar, and Emily’s souls for not being such judgemental bastards…

    Liked by 1 person

  17. I agree about her father, he himself loathes himself for not accepting her daughter wholeheartedly. Then again it is the story about the foundation of the kingdom about how it was almost destroyed. It is understandable of their fear, even if it is just a myth from long ago. But they are just overeating, even the Queen (the royal family who caused despair of the hero) accepted Claudia.

    Her mother reacted oddly and ignored claudia’s existence from birth except for breastfeeding and that to due to circumstance. So it is a sound reason to suspect Claudia for supposedly hurting Syiph . But she should at-least tried to listen to claudia’s side of the story.

    it doesn’t hurt to say sorry, when the misunderstanding was cleared A simple apology and explaining her reason for doubting Claudia in Sylph incident might lessen their burden. Instead she and all the maids tried to make sure that Sylph never run into Claudia. SO the mother is definitely bad. Her father at-least trying his best.

    Like

    1. It is sad her husband is a knight who had is hands in blood, she could get along with him but her daughter’s hand is pure but refused to hold her. Believing in Myth rather than her own blood and bones.

      The Claudia in the original novel might have turned bad because of the neglect, hatred and fear of all around her. If only her parents tried to accept her, many things would have been different in the original novel, even if she didn’t end up with the prince.

      All bad characters do have a history.

      Like

  18. Now I reaaally want her mother to die, she’s just a fking useless paranoic woman, and her father is the same, they just don’t deserve to be parents, hopes bot of them have an “accident” or something else

    Like

Leave a comment